CFSIA Day 6: Leaving Nairobi

Well, our time at ICIPE has come to an end. Today we’re hitting the road and driving about 6 hours to our first field site, Nguruman. I’m excited to be camping but I’m sure I’ll miss the real toilets and showers and WiFi soon enough. Hopefully I can handle the very high heat there!

On Thursday this week we learned about and visited a very cool initiative called the Community Cooker. It burns garbage collected from slums with 99% efficiency in order to cook food and heat water for drinking and bathing. The prototype we saw was really cool and I think the project has lots of potential for the future. Yesterday we went to the National Museum. My class, the Natural History course, looked at herpetology specimens and learned a lot about snakes. We also went through the big mammals and anthropology sections and bought some postcards at the gift shop.

I wish I could write more but I’m typing this on my phone and I don’t have a lot of time. Hopefully I’ll be able to post soon from Nguruman!

image

image

image

image

One thought on “CFSIA Day 6: Leaving Nairobi

Leave a Reply

